My Acupuncturist Wants To Know When Was The Last Time I Was Happy

A friend texted me about an acupuncturist the other day.

“She’s amazing,” my friend said.

I googled her and she did seem pretty amazing. She has reviews everywhere and they are all raves. I made my appointment and sped 50 minutes to the next city to make it to the (possible) headache cure.

Geriana asked me all kinds of questions. Then took a picture of my tongue and pointed out the supposedly telling information it revealed. It sounded like she was reading my palm…but it was my tongue. I wasn’t sure about any of it. But I wasn’t UNSURE about any of it either. So we continued.

“When was the last time you were happy?” she asked.

My mind drew a blank, as it tends to do when put on the spot. I could tell she felt that my hesitation proved her point. But in that moment of hesitation, I was really wondering what exactly does she mean by happiness? I guess that’s why you always see that quote “Happiness is…”. Because it’s different for different people.

Gretchen Rubin has a great book on happiness habits called “The Happiness Project”. It’s interesting to note that there is no one set of habits that makes everyone happy. We are all unique in our happiness requirements.

What does happiness mean to you? How do you make sure you experience happiness in your life? Let’s talk in the comments!


4 comments

  1. I have had a pretty awful year. Health problems, loss, grief, depression… I’m getting through it recognizing it’s just one of those times in life and I don’t expect myself to feel happy all the time. It’s okay to be sad. That said, I’m so ready to be happy again. There have been happy times in the mix! In April, I went to a fantastic concert of Roma music and I remember a moment thinking “Ooh, this is what happiness feels like!” It was a nice reminder of what I’ll feel again once the intensity of grief is passed.

    Like

    • I agree. I’m ok with the sad times. It’s all part of it. That concert sounds awesome. I know exactly what you mean about events like that and “rediscovering” the feeling of happy. Hope things turn around for you soon! Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Liked by 1 person


Leave a comment